Tunku Aziz joins DAP!

It was an extremely pleasant surprise to read that Tunku Aziz has joined DAP and been appointed a Vice-Chairman of DAP.

I had the opportunity to meet and interact with Tunku Aziz in April 2007 during Projek Amanat Negara IV, a series of talks organised by the UKEC in London.  Apart from being very warm, Tunku Aziz struck me as someone who truly cared about Malaysia.  I also recall him mentioning that he was at the Padang for that historic moment when Tunku Abdul Rahman made that now famous proclamation: “Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka!”

Tunku Aziz’s admission into DAP represents a monumental step forward for Malaysian politics.  Tunku Aziz has always been outspoken and unafraid criticise others on the basis of his principles.  For someone of his stature and integrity to have joined demonstrates that DAP is a viable political alternative for Malays and Muslims.

When questioned on his choice of party, Tunku Aziz replied: “I feel that I trust the people around me and what the party stands for.” He is also quoted as saying: “I always have independent views. I have been critical on a number of issues. While I subscribe to an organisation’s basic principles, there are times where we disagree. I have always championed the freedom to dissent.

Thank you for making a courageous decision Tunku Aziz.  I hope other prominent Malays have taken notice and will follow in your footsteps.

I wish you all the best in your endeavours to make Malaysia a better place for all.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Tunku Aziz joins DAP!”

  1. hafiz Says:

    Thats great! Towards a new Malaysia! Aku anak bangsa Malaysia!!!

    Thank you for your comment Hafiz – aku pun anak bangsa Malaysia!

  2. bow Says:

    Me too! Aku anak Malaysia!!!!Cheer>>>>

Leave a comment